As at 12 September 2026 the transitional justice law is a draft, discussed by the National Commission for Transitional Justice with members of the People's Assembly on 28 June 2026, and not reported enacted; the commission was formed by Decree No. 20 of 17 May 2025 (Official Gazette issue 16 of 21 May 2025, page 78), which names its fields and its head, gives thirty days for a team and an internal regulation, and says nothing of its powers of investigation, procedure or budget; the earliest trial before the Fourth Criminal Court in Damascus that this process has found reported opened on 26 April 2026 and ended in judgment on 11 August 2026, as state media report it; no source says it was the court's first.
Claim ID
TJ-001
Exact or summary claim
As at 12 September 2026 the transitional justice law is a draft, discussed by the National Commission for Transitional Justice with members of the People's Assembly on 28 June 2026, and not reported enacted; the commission was formed by Decree No. 20 of 17 May 2025 (Official Gazette issue 16 of 21 May 2025, page 78), which names its fields and its head, gives thirty days for a team and an internal regulation, and says nothing of its powers of investigation, procedure or budget; the earliest trial before the Fourth Criminal Court in Damascus that this process has found reported opened on 26 April 2026 and ended in judgment on 11 August 2026, as state media report it; no source says it was the court's first.
Destination
Chapter 4 line 221
Status
QUALIFIED
Source
SRC-566 (the decree at the Gazette page, verified 13 September 2026); SRC-567 (Constitutional Declaration Articles 48 and 49 at the Gazette); SRC-568 (SANA reports, May to September 2026); SRC-569 (Ministry of Justice, 22 February 2026); SRC-570 (STJ commentary on the draft law, 5 June 2026)
Source type
Primary instrument at the Gazette; state media and ministry self-reporting for the rest
Published
2025-05-21/2026-09-10
Accessed
2026-09-12
Measure and scope
The decree is read at the page. Everything after it is reported: the internal regulations are said to exist and are not published where this process found them; the draft law text is unseen; no judgment is held as a court record. Enactment searched on 12 September 2026 by two web searches and at the most recent SANA commission item (10 September 2026), which is silent on it.
Known conflict
The commission's own channel was not reached; its account of any of this is absent. AMENDED 13 SEPTEMBER 2026 on finding 3 of the wave B diff review: 'first' was the earliest date the search found, printed as a fact about the court; struck. The initiative's paper (SRC-583) and STJ's (SRC-570) quote clauses of the draft law and do not print it; the commission's Facebook page exists and needs an account (SRC-568). || D-230 (Chapter 4 v58), 26 September 2026: SLDP's workshop report of December 2025 (SRC-692) records a commission member saying a draft transitional justice law would go first to civil society, then to those affected, before the People's Assembly. Not printed; the row's statement of the draft's status is unchanged.
Specialist
Transitional justice, Syrian law
Downstream
Chapter 4
Action
Chapter 4 line 221 may say what the decree says and attribute the rest to reports, as the AQ-73 basis B drafts it; nothing may describe the law as enacted or a judgment as read.